Sporting Excellence Recognised

Eighteen Year 11 pupils were amongst those honoured at the annual Roy Burrell Awards. The event is held annually at The Perse Performing Arts Centre to recognise sporting excellence across schools in Cambridgeshire, and this year saw Laura Sugar, Welsh Hockey player, Paralympic 200m Sprinter and Paralympic gold medal Canoe Sprinter, hand out the awards.
Sixteen Year 11 pupils from Sawston were awarded medals for competing at a high level in their chosen sport:
Harrison Crabb (Badminton); Dominic Hines (BMX); Holly Welford (Dance); Keely Cole, Felix Harris, Alex Shelford, Lily-May Short (Football); Neysa O’Brien (Gymnastics); Sunny Brown and Ben Journeaux (Hockey); Ava Henry, Abi Pearce and Emma Quinnell (Netball); Keira Collinson, Phoebe Herbert, Isobel Smit, Jack Vaughan (Rugby), Isla Cowling (Trampolining).
Isobel Whitton and Phoebe Silk were also recognised for their contribution to Sports Leadership at Sawston Village College and their local community, with Phoebe Silk picking up the prestigious Sports Leader of the Year title. Congratulations to all involved.



01223 712777

New Road, Sawston, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB22 3BP

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By clicking Accept, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Learn More